Since my surgery in March, things have been on a decided up – swing in our family’s life.  Rudy had his gastric bypass surgery and is getting healthy, the kids had a great summer, filled with different day camps,  and a week spent in the Catskills.  I have a clearer focus for the kids school work in the fall, and Sophia is finally making headway with her reading (huge relief!).  But one thing that has happened, that is both good and painful at the same time, is We are moving right at summer’s end, to Palmer.  This is wonderful as far as commuting is concerned for both the kids and I, and for Rudy.  But it is also really sad and emotional for me, as this is the first house I’ve fallen in love with since I was a kid and we were leaving The Brown House in Northborough.  Not Oakham, not even the property so much, which is swampy and very mosquito-y.  But the house itself.  I always think of it as Mr. Rutherford’s house, and I feel like I came to know him in a way through knowing this house.  The house and the property were like an eternal gift of love to his wife, and everything was designed with such care and thought.  He even carved hearts into the big rocks around the property.  But the house itself is the most special and beautiful part.  I am very, very sad to be leaving it. 

But Palmer will be good for all of our sanity, I am sure.  Rudy will be commuting 20 minutes to work.  I will be driving 30 minutes to Mullins Ice Arena and to most of the other homeschool activities. We’ll be even closer to Old Sturbridge Village, and we’ll be closer to family.  We have to do it. 

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

This entry was posted in Family life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

