A gift to make


That there project above is a February Lady for my mother in law’s birthday. The yarn has had quite a trip with me over the past four months. At first it was a half-completed Abalone, but then I just couldn’t force myself to complete the damn thing ~ it is such a boring pattern, and I ripped out a half completed sweater. Yes I did. For a while I was going to abandon the yarn completely, get some Malabrigo, and make her those gorgeous Woodruff cabled mittens and that lovely Brattleboro hat. But, on cue, my Yankee guilt at the wastefulness of that plan hit me hard, so I returned to the idea of knitting her a cardigan, and voila, this…a nearly halfway completed February Lady. But I’m deeply unhappy with it too, so the other day I casted on for the Tappan Zee cardi, only to rip that out and return, a bit embarrassed, back to the February Lady. Who knows what my mother in law will actually open from me on her big day…

I’m reading – or rather, staid up until 11 last night to complete – The Winter Garden. It’s difficult to explain why I both loved and hated this book. I find it difficult to recommend a book whose characters lack literary integrity. This was the authors fault, not the characters. This was a case, and I’ve found it before in the Dan Brown books and the Nicholas Spark books among others, where the idea and plot is quite captivating, but the author lacks…dare I say my opinion…lacks talent?…there I said it…as a writer. And books are ultimately about both literary talent and creative plot formation. Those afore mentioned authors, and this one, have lots of creative plots, but lack that other essential half of the bargain. I hasten to add, IMO, of course.

I have read so many books on WW II, both biographical and historical. They are always gut wrenching. In this book, the mothers actual story was just that, gut wrenching, so much so that I had to take breaks to go kiss my babies before I could finish the last 50 pages, and I am not ashamed to admit I cried with abandon throughout the end.

But we are going to keep coming round to the fact that I disliked the plain jane-writing of the rest of the book, and I did think everything pertaining to the sisters lacked integrity, honesty, believablity and ultimately, accountability.

Would I recommend it? Yes, I would, because people need awareness of the past, but most of us shy away from it. “By forgetting the past we are condemned to repeat it.” This was a quite palatable way of sneaking in some very painful history. Sort of like reading Phillipa Gregory to get a feel for the Tudors and Plantaginists.

Alright – I will leave that poor author alone now!

Joining in with Ginny today.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A gift to make

  1. Tracey says:

    Well, at least you are keeping your knitting interesting!;) I have the February sweater on my to knit list,but haven’t cast on yet. I’m sure whatever you give your Mother in-law she will love.

  2. Tina says:

    No matter what you end up finishing, your mother-n-law will love it! I’ve yet to knit a February Lady or a Tappan Zee but hope to some day πŸ™‚

  3. swanski says:

    I think I will pass on the book since it did not sparkle for you. Love the sweater you are knitting and I hope you like it enough to not rip it out!!! Lucky mother in law πŸ™‚

  4. Thank you for being honest about The Winter Garden. I’ve only read one book from Kristen Hannah and was curious about her other books.

  5. heathermama says:

    well, that yarn has had a journey, for what it’s worth i think the sweater looks lovely in that purple yarn. πŸ™‚

  6. meghann says:

    I also think the February Lady is just lovely in that purple. It is so frustrating when the yarn isn’t clear about what it wants to become, isn’t it? xo

  7. Angela says:

    Love the B lady sweater. You couldn’t have picked a more beautiful color. Your MIL is very blessed to have you for a DIL!

  8. Kathy says:

    Beautiful purple color — I’m sure that the finished gift (whatever it may turn out to be!) will be just lovely, and much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

