Knitterly woes



(What it looks like minus the tomatoe-loving baby)

I feel like I’ve been in a bit of a knitting frenzy lately. For two reasons, mainly: My kids – who normally engage in the occasional sibling squabble, at a very manageable level – have been quite a bit more intensely cranky lately, and I’ve been using knitting as my life preserver. And secondly, I’ve got Sophia’s Owlet about three quarters of the way finished…no, really, even more then that; it’s all complete but for the last bit of the owls, and then the decrease along the yoke, and the bind-off. But I’ve run out of yarn, and it positively eats at me to have an unfinished project. I’m not sure when the next bit of Annie’s wool will be spun so I can finish it. I might be looking at months! (Insert sob.)

So, in the interim, I’ve made a pair of owl mittens for Sophia, I knitted Lily a cardigan out of Sundance’s wool (and oh was that a pleasure! So soft!! So wonderful!! I will never part with this boy; he’s proven his worth in wool alone). And I made a stranded Norwegian star hat for Grace. I just finished the hat this afternoon. Now I’m casting about for the next project. What will it be? What pattern out there looks irresistible??

Can I make it potentially months before I get to finish that damn Owlet pattern???

Internal tears and tears and tears…

I’m joining Ginny in her yarn-along, and I’m here to tell you that I am not reading at all, I’m knitting, like a crazed crazy woman, and I’m not ashamed to admit it.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Sheep. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Knitterly woes

  1. Tracey says:

    I am sorry for all the tears and running out of yarn [I know that hurts], but all your other projects are just amazing…really they are! I hope you don’t have to wait months before you can finish your Owlet.

  2. Oh, no! I’m so sorry you have to wait. I’m so impatient I’d consider using a contrasting colour, I think.
    All of your projects look wonderful. I have my eye on that owl mitten pattern myself.

    • mamainthequietcorner says:

      Thanks, Hannah. Believe me – I considered going with the contrasting color! I just don’t know how it would look half-way through the owl cables. šŸ˜¦ But who knows, this isn’t the bottom of my desperation, and in another week, I may be willing to risk it!

  3. Tina says:

    Ahhh… I’m sorry that you’ve run out of yarn but to love your other projects šŸ™‚

  4. Awww, man! That truly sucks. Hopefully, the yarn gets spun up sooner than you expect and you can continue on.

    The other projects are wonderful!

  5. alisa says:

    oh yes I feel your pain…..I just had to order more yarn for a project that I ran out of wool on. I only had to wait 2 weeks……months…..now I don’t know how you are going to do that!! Beautiful knits by the way…..love your blog!

    • mamainthequietcorner says:

      Thanks, Alisa. I’m glad you got your yarn fix quickly! No one should have to suffer from lack of yarn… šŸ˜‰

  6. That last sentence made me laugh out loud!!!!! Such a shame about the yarn running out – hope you can get hold of some soon.

    • mamainthequietcorner says:

      Thank you! There’s been a turn of events today, and I might not be out of commission on that Owlet as long as I feared… šŸ˜‰

  7. charlottehelle says:

    I love that cardigan!! The mittens are super super cute too. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

