:: June 26 ::


We’re in that expansive time of year. Everything feels so big and wide open. The girls live outside, and I feel like going and doing, which is hugely different then how I normally feel (I am a major homebody).

I have put a lot of time into the above project this past week or so. Its the tea leaves cardigan, and its the first thing I’ve ever knitted for myself. I’m pretty excited about it. I have spent a lot of time contemplating – and still haven’t come to any conclusion – about whether I want it to have short sleeves or long. Either way, we have two camping trips planned for next month, and I hope to have it finished in time to wear in the cool summer evenings.

I purchased fabric a while back to make the girls summer skirts (using the lazy days pattern from Oliver + S), and the girls have faithfully reminded me from time to time of this promise. But for some reason I’ve lacked motivation to sit down to the sewing machine. Anyway, I finally started work on them last week, and so far each girl has two skirts. Its still like wading through molasses, though; I don’t want to sew. I only want to knit.

My garden is pretty filled with condescension and disgust for me at this point. At least, that is what I imagine every time I go out to it. Last week, Lily entered a phase of needing to be held every live long moment (teething, poor kiddo), and that combined with the oppressive heat and rain really put me off trying to keep a grip on what was in reality, already a very tenuous grasp on the weeds. Well last night, Lily started a new phase of taking two hour long naps at a stretch, and today during one such nap, I ran out to the garden to furiously pull weeds and frantically run my push mower down the garden aisles. But its no use. Anything I can accomplish at this point is going to be peanuts. The weeds have won.

Ah well. Next year I will be the victor over the weeds.

Knitting and crafting along with Nicole and Ginny.

This entry was posted in Garden, Knitting, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to :: June 26 ::

  1. Kelly says:

    I love your girls’ outfits ~ so sweet! They look lovely with their baskets 🙂

  2. Tracey says:

    Your tea leaves looks so pretty and it ‘s nice that you are knitting for yourself, every knitter deserves to have a hand knit.
    I hear you about the garden., the weeds won here too. Wiith heat, rain and bugs I just couldn’t keep up and finally didn’t even try. Oh well, there is always next year right?
    Have a happy yarn along day.

  3. Jen says:

    Your daughters outfits are gorgeous! I love the sweaters too! My little one has been BEGGING me for weeks now to sew her up a few pairs of shorts. But right now I just want to be knitting. I think because I can bring the knitting outside & who wants to be stuck up in the craft room with the sewing machine when there’s beautiful weather outside??

  4. The skirts and cardi’s your girls are wearing are too sweet! And I hear ya…I would much rather sit and knit than sit and sew! 🙂

  5. alisa says:

    Your tea leaves looks lovely……and I admire your skirts…I just began sewing and look forward to making my little one skirts to go with her knits as well!!

  6. Oh my goodness, everything just looks so beautiful. I love the skirts, and the sweaters are just perfect with them.

  7. Lori says:

    such darling little outfits, i love the skirts and sweet sweaters. your tea leaves looks so pretty, i’m knitting a blue one too. i’m making bracelet lenght sleeves, i think they’ll be right for me, it’s fun to decide isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

