Work in progress ::June 12 ::


image

* * *

image

* * *

image

I am working on the last inches of Sophia’s birthday Milo. I’m glad this is almost complete and will be ready long in advance of her very special 7th birthday. I plan to make a pair of warm woolen mittens in the same colorway, maybe with more cabled hearts (in red?).

I have been slowly reading and absorbing this book, Tapestries, which has really been a moving and inspirational read. Many of us are aware of the first three stages of life in Waldorf, stages which parallel the neurological and behavioral studies of many scientists, but are labeled differently. (Quick summary: birth to 7 years are the years of the ‘hands’ wherein the child learns via imitation and is busy fully incarnating in its body. Child is sheltered from the intellectual and adult world/awareness. Child is surrounded by beauty and wholesomeness: 7-14 years, the age of the ‘heart’ or emotions, wherein we begin academics and proceed in a way that appeals to the emotions. Child is exposed to rich expereinces that feed its soul; music, art, stories, the wonder of the 3 R’s: 14-21, the age of the ‘head’ or intellect. We now interact with the child in a way which appeals to reason and logic. Continue to surround them in beauty and richness, but the age of reason is fully at hand.)

But sometimes we forget there is still personal development after age 21, and that is what Tapestries deals with… The developmental stages throughout life and how they weave into who we are. It’s really awesome; I can see a bit of where my husband is, and where I am, on this journey through life. The book also makes clear what the dangers could be in each developmental phase for a marriage, and for oneself personally. I love books like this because I did not grow up in a very stable, cohesive family, and I love learning about (and therefore “seeing”) what my goals should be, what is healthy, and what is not.

Knitting along with Nicole and Ginny today.

This entry was posted in Books, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Work in progress ::June 12 ::

  1. I love the Milo, looks so cute. I think I want to make one!

  2. omlair says:

    love the cabled hearts, and great colour!

  3. gracey says:

    Beautiful color! I grew up in the “quiet” corner…lived there until I was about 10..then moved to the other side of Hartford, where I still live…

  4. I love the way you’ve customised the Milo – so cute! I like the idea of the cabled heart mittens, too.

  5. Anke says:

    I’ve never seen those cabled hearts before and I really like how they look on your Milo. Great color, too!

  6. Great modification on the cable! So sweet.

  7. Casey says:

    What a beautiful color! I have Milo queued. May actually get it knitted someday….

  8. Rachel says:

    I am sure she will love her milo! it looks beautiful

  9. Kelly says:

    I adore the Milo vests I keep seeing, and yours is lovely! I can’t wait to start one for my son 🙂

  10. This is going to be so cute! I love the color 🙂 Thanks for linking up to KCCO!

    • mamainthequietcorner says:

      Thanks to all you kind ladies for the thoughtful words! And Nicole, thank *you* for hosting this lovely craft-along. I look forward to seeing what you and everyone else made all week. 🙂

  11. mistea says:

    Gorgeous – lovely colour and very pretty heart cable. Clever modification to this very practical top.
    Enjoy the stitches.

Leave a Reply

