:: June 3 ::


* * *

* * *

* * *

* * *

* * *

* * *

* * *

* * *

The past few weeks have been filled with garden planting, rotating the sheep weekly on fresh grazing ground; moving the goats daily to new brushy/woods spots for munching; watching the lambs and goat kids at play (endless amusement); checking in on our sproutlings; and working on knitting projects. Throughout this, I am also keeping in mind our First Grade year that is ahead of us and which will begin in only three months time.

I have been listening in on the Global Waldorf Expo and I’ve been so inspired and impressed by things various speakers have discussed. Sally Fallon had an excellent talk about nutrition and our need for healthy fats and good whole food. Christine Goodale gave a talk which I almost didn’t listen to because it was titled “Waldorf Kindergarten in the Home,” and I have been so focused on preparing for the grades, it just didn;t sound relevant to where my head is right now. But I’m so thankful I did listen, because it actually was incredibly relevant, even for parents working with the grades. She talked about working with the rhythm of your life and fitting grades work into that…after all, Waldorf education is based on the home life, but sometimes we homeschoolers forget that and try to recreate a Waldorf classroom experience, which is sort of a funny twist of events. She also talked about not being afraid to allow the child’s main work to be play, how important play is in childhood throughout all the ages, not just the first 7 years. A 3 year old needs to play like a 3 year old needs to play, 7 year old needs to play like a 7 year old needs to, and a 13 year old should play like a 13 year old needs to, and this is the ultimate work of childhood. The 3 R’s are emphasized in our society at the detriment of natural child development, and natural child development unfolds through play.

This specific talk has encouraged me to reevaluate my plans for the fall, and I am thinking of taking a step back in work load. In reality, First Grade should be a gradual bridge out of the pure play and fantasy of Kindergarten and into the more grounded world of Second Grade. I am not sure what this will look like in practice (yet) but I want to make sure I do not lift the veil of dreaminess prematurely. In reality, Sophia is still very dreamy.

Wow, well I didn’t plan to discuss anything except the garden and animals tonight, but there we go anyway. This stuff has been on my mind tonight. 🙂

This entry was posted in 1st Grade, Family life, Farm life, Garden, Play, Waldorf. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

