Knits and things


~~~

~~~

~~~

~~~

~~~

~~~~~~~~

Knitting along with Ginny again today. I finished up quite a few knitting projects lately…two of which were these (Ravelry notes here and here): a pixie hat for Miss Lily, and a birthday crown for our soon to be 3 year old (how did that happen?!). I’ve also been working on felted mittens for Grace and a hat; all for the impending birth day (two days away), and I have been so good about completing these tasks in a very timely fashion that now I think I even have time to do a do-over of the crown. (I don’t like how loose it is – knitting it on smaller needles this time, yes, I think I’ll try that.)

The past few days of our New Year have been spent very lazily around here. At the start of December, I was a woman on a mission – decluttering, organizing, cleaning, maintaining. I actually had visions of my house staying in this pristine condition (HA!), but I was spending all day literally following children and husband around picking up after them, and then vacuuming and washing at night. Oh boy. No more. The New Year has come, and I once again realize my visions for the house are a pipe dream. Let the toys and husband’s (dirty) socks reign because I’ve gone back to the couch, my knitting, and acceptance. It’s actually quite peaceful from the vantage point of knitting needles and yarn camouflaging my view, anyway.

Hope the New Year is going as relaxingly for you.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Knits and things

  1. Renee says:

    You have been busy…great job! I hope you get to sit back and relax..with your needles..smile..

    ~~Renee

  2. Leslie says:

    “It’s actually quite peaceful from the vantage point of knitting needles and yarn camouflaging my view, anyway. ”
    Exactly, the way I felt when all the littlies were home. Now they have homes, and something is missing knitting all by myself.

  3. Leslie says:

    ps. the pattern for crown hat is found where? thanks:)

  4. Wendy says:

    Oh boy, I’m still living in the hope that my fast and furious New Year’s cleaning, purging, reorganizing might somehow make a difference. I did sit down and knit for awhile this evening, and, yep, living room did not get picked up before bed tonight . . . I guess reality is about to set it. πŸ™‚

    • mamainthequietcorner says:

      I keep hoping when the children are older, they will maintain the house for me…probably another dream. πŸ˜‰

  5. Jen says:

    I love the crown! I’ve been looking for a crown pattern for my little for Epiphany. I might have to try it. As long as my house is “moderately picked up” after supper I’m happy. I’d much rather sit in the living room with my knitting in the midst of the toys, husband & toddler and enjoy some time with them rather then them have all the fun while I’m cleaning the house πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

