Herb Bed


Today I woke up hunting for a project. Now granted, I could have just worked on one of the girls half-made dresses with the sewing machine, or tried to salvage the overly ripe bananas for the banana bread I’ve been meaning to make for the past five days. Probably the best choice would have been to head out back to the garden and bushwhack my way through the weeds in a vain attempt to wrestle them out and reestablish my dominance (ha! right! ~they mock). But instead of these projects which already existed and needed to be dealt with, I decided it would be a great day to purchase established herbs, then come home and build a raised bed herb garden.

100_1397

I decided to do it the real DIY way, which included using scrap wood left over from the chicken coop, and taking the wheelbarrel and shovel into the woods to seek out the rich black earth found only there. I pulled out Rudy’s power drill and screw gun, which was fun fun, and voila! Look what I ended up with!

100_1401

We have Lemon Thyme, Sweet Marjoram, Lavender, Eucalyptus, and Sage all in the little herb bed, and Apple Mint and Spearmint on the outside ~ of course! I’m pretty happy with how it all came out.

100_1379

See that structure behind the Bug? I have a funny feeling it MAY end up being converted into a goat house. We’ll see. 😉

100_1387

And Sammy, Sandy and Duck are doing great. They hang outside all day now, and it won’t be much longer til they are permanently housed in their duck run.

This entry was posted in Farm life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

