Momma’s Day, hurray!


So Happy Mother’s Day to all you devoted momma’s! What a beautiful day it was to celebrate motherhood! Our family began celebrating a day early, due to an impending travel crisis, but it was wonderful nonetheless. We spent today, however, down with my lovely family ~ a Mother’s Day brunch down on the CT. coast ~ yum yum! Then when we got home I cleaned the chicken coop (by choice, I swear!).

I have to say right now and for the record ~ I really just adore my husband! I don’t think you ever fully realize the monumental importance of key people until they are MIA. I’m unbelievably fortunate. Not just because he knew enough to take me fabric/yarn shopping for my Mother’s Day treat,

100_1326

or because he had tulips and chocolates delivered to our front steps,

100_1308

or even because he’s the only man patient enough to tramp outside three times in the middle of the night to check my chickens, because I don’t like walking in the woods in the dark and the damn things just won’t go into their coop!!

No, my husband is wonderful because he has the kindest heart of anyone I know. I have no idea where it comes from, but his kindness and patience astound me, sometimes on a daily basis. He sees through games and garbage and still keeps a smile, and he chooses to look on the bright side always. He and I balance each other perfectly, and it hit me pretty squarely the other day that he really is my right hand. ā¤

(Wow, just think what I’ll write on Father’s Day!!)

justthethreeofus

Ok, so back to the daily business of things! Sophia’s new favorite form of transportation is on my back, Gracie riding in front. This would work out wonderfully, except for her constantly tilting backwards, causing me to grab onto the nearest piece of furniture! But I love that she’s still being carried, after all this time.

We’ve been doing Family Art Time, inspired from a recent NPR piece and from The Creative Family. Even Rudy gets into it, as observable by his blatant plagiarism. šŸ˜›

100_1316

Do you remember Harold and the Purple Crayon? Art ~ just another one my hubby’s amazing talents!

There is a whole lot of weeding going on here too, and a lot of gardening work in general. I think I got my gardening bug from my Gram ~ she always had such an amazing garden, and even now, she just knows the lands so well. Such an incredible lady!

I’m going to close up now, I’m running on 4 hours of sleep and feeling a little rambly and direction-less, BUT I’ll be posting the new sewing projects soon, and other goodies!

This entry was posted in Celebrations/rituals/holidays, Family life, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Momma’s Day, hurray!

  1. Krystle says:

    chocoate? flowers? shopping? and what do i get for mothers day? i get to climb under forsythia (while being poking in the face and hair and crawling through the dirt) and strap it so we can pull it out. šŸ˜›

  2. mamainthequietcorner says:

    LOL So you guys got the all the forsythia out then?? I thought that counts as a treat! šŸ˜›

    I think I only got special treatment because of the MIA part… Next year I bet it will be just a card!

Leave a Reply

